February 7, 2020

Original score for silent film "The Passion of Joan of Arc"

Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site
28 E 20th St, New York, NY 10003
tickets / more info

The classic silent film "The Passion of Joan of Arc" (French: La Passion de Jeanne d'Arc) is a 1928 silent French historical film based on the actual record of the trial of Joan of Arc. The film was directed by Carl Theodor Dreyer and stars Renée Jeanne Falconetti as Joan.

The movie will be accompanied by a live score. The score was written by Lithuanian-born vocalist and composer Simona Smirnova, and comprises a string quartet, live vocals, and Lithuanian zither (kanklės).

Simona Smirnova, vocals and zither
Lynn Bechtold and Johnna Wu, violin
Carrie Frey, viola
Helen Newby, cello