Continental Connections: Austria & Hungary

Sunday, February 21, 2016, at 2:00 pm

This is an archived event, not part of the current festival.

Brooklyn Museum
200 Eastern Parkway
Brooklyn, NY


For its 2015/16 season, The Orchestra of St. Luke's presents a series of concerts curated around the many musical traditions of Europe. A trip to India inspired Hungarian composer and conductor Iván Fischer's Shudh Sarang Sextet—complete with tabla drums—and works by Kodály and Bartók champion the folk music of their native Hungary. The brilliance of Mozart and Haydn shines in graceful romps for strings.

MOZART Divertimento in F Major, K. 138
KODÁLY Serenade for two violins and viola, Op. 12
IVÁN FISCHER Präludium und Fuge (U.S. Premiere)
IVÁN FISCHER Shudh Sarang Sextet for tabla and strings (U.S. Premiere)
BARTÓK Valse for string quartet
HAYDN String Quartet in C Major, Op. 54, No. 2, Hob III:57

For more information, visit the Orchestra of St. Luke's website.

Iván Fischer, composer

Return to Schedule