Composers Now is actively engaged in diversity, equity and inclusion
in all of its practices, initiatives and programs.

December IMPACT Session

Gwen Lester

Gwen Lester

December 8
7pm (EST) 

All IMPACT events are FREE
Watch HERE
Composers Now launched IMPACT in December 2020. Each installment in this series offers a composer the opportunity to reflect on one's creativity, influences, pathways, and responsibility as a living artist in our ever-changing world. Designed for the virtual space, every session shares a composer's essential thoughts directly with you, the audience, in the safety and comfort of your own place.
These commentaries, interwoven with performance videos and other materials, articulate a creator's IMPACT.

Composer Curator: Mosaic Composers Collective

Friday, December 16, 2022, 7:30 pm
Live Performance + livestream

DiMenna Center for Classical Music
450 West 37th Street


Composer Curator

Murphy Severtson | Ashtyn Brown | Kevin Arthur, Jr. | Alexa Letourneau |Aidan Arbona | Naamia Rivera

Composers Now and Mosaic Composers Collective, featuring Kevin Arthur Jr., Aidan Arbona, Naamia Rivera, Murphy Severtson, Alexa Letourneau, and Ashtyn Brown, co-present an evening of chamber music, performed at the DiMenna Center for Classical Music. This concert, which marks the collective's debut, will feature works by all six collective members performed by some of the most exciting new music performers in New York City, as well as interviews and a discussion.

To read more about the Composer Curator initiative and past events in the series:

Kennedy Center Honors Tania León 

The entire Composers Now Community celebrates TANIA LEÓN on being named a recipient of the 2022 Kennedy Center Honors!

Kennedy Center Honors Tania León
photo by Gail Hadani

Kennedy Center 2022 Honors

A gala on December 4 at the 45th annual Kennedy Center Honors celebrates the legendary Gladys Knight; the actor and filmmaker George Clooney; the contemporary Christian singer-songwriter Amy Grant; the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Tania León and the band U2.

The event will be televised on December 28 on CBS. 

"Little did I imagine when studying in La Habana that life was going to grace me with such a distinction! My first thoughts went to my ancestors: they believed in my dreams, and what we lacked in material wealth, they made up for in spirit, encouragement, and support. My heartfelt thanks go to the many people who have blessed my path by helping my talent to blossom and by giving me the chance to be heard. I am incredibly humbled to join such a
prestigious family of artists, and deeply grateful to the Kennedy Center for bestowing me with this incredible honor."
     –Tania León  
"In each case, these are artists who are doing more than being performers. They are artists as citizens who are giving back and making the world a better place through art. It's about art for life's sake. These artists are a mirror to who we are."
     -- Deborah Rutter, President, Kennedy Center

Read more about the Kennedy Center 2022 Kennedy Center honorees
The Washington Post Article
The New York Times

National Public Radio
The Washington Post Announcement
Associated Press