Old & New: Circles & Lines @ IBeam 4.18.15
SEM Ensemble performs Roscoe, Threadgill, Lewis @ Bohemian National Hall 4.28.15
Sarah Manning's Underworld Alchemy @ Firehouse Space, 4.9.15

Spotlight on Presenter Partner Events in April

On April 9 at 8 pm, the Firehouse Space presents Sarah Manning's Underworld Alchemy: "Two silver altos with utterly distinct sounds. Electric bass to agitate and ignite. Drums and percussion to stir, rumble and clank like a furnace in a subterranean laboratory. The secret of alchemy is mastery of the illusion.  We'll take you somewhere in the dark – and leave you to find the way out." More information at http://thefirehousespace.org.

The Jazz Gallery presents Holophonor on April 16 at 8 and 10 pm. HOLOPHONOR is a fearless collaboration of seven of today's most dynamic young jazz musicians from all over the U.S. and South America. The group released their debut album on June 14, 2014. More information and tickets at www.jazzgallery.org.
On April 18 at 8:30 pm, IBeam Brooklyn presents "Old & New: Circles and Lines," an evening of improvised music organized by pianist and composer Mara Rosenbloom. The music will bring together a combination of old friends and first time collaborations, balancing the unexpected and the familiar. For more information, visit ibeambrooklyn.com.

On April 28 at 8 pm, Interpretations presents the SEM ensemble in a performance of works by George E. Lewis, Roscoe Mitchell, Henry Threadgill, John Cage, Petr Kotik & Christian Wolff at the Bohemian National Hall. This performance is part of a series commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM). More information at www.interpretations.info.

PIX/Channel 11 television reporter Joe Mauceri covers Innovative Women in New Music event

Event Image

The Cutting Room, NYC was the venue on Sunday, February 22nd for a tribute to and keynote address by Laurie Anderson - composer, performance artist, mentor and trailblazer. Also participating were Annie Gosfield, Missy Mazzoli, Martha Mooke, Angélica Negrón and Kathleen Supove. This event was part of the 2015 Composers Now Festival.

Learn more here.

Composers Now Awarded Transformative Grant from the Rockefeller Brothers Fund

Composers Now has been awarded a transformative grant from the Rockefeller Brothers Fund for 2015. The support will allow Composers Now to continue to deepen its commitment to composers, both through the annual festival in NYC's five boroughs, and through the expansion of its current programs. The grant also allows for the possibility of new initiatives in support of the organization's mission.

Read the full press release.